top of page
  • Chrism

Pappas Bros. Steakhouse Houston Galleria

Houston restaurant week(s) is in full swing! https://www.houstonrestaurantweeks.com/

Going from August 1 until September 2nd, it's actually an entire month long. Brandon, Nathan, Liz and I tried a Thai fusion restaurant called Decatur a few weeks ago and it had amazeballs food but terrible service. This weekend, Brandon and I celebrated an early 3 year anniversary at Pappas Bros Steakhouse in the Houston Galleria area.


Early three year anniversary dinner


Unlike Decatur, service at Pappas was prompt and began with the complimentary valet opening our doors and ushering us towards the host. We got there a wee bit early so she asked us to wait in the lounge/bar area. There were plenty of open bar tables and we sat at a white linen high top as gorgeous piano music permeated the room, from a pianist playing 7 feet away. A waitress almost immediately appeared, giving comprehensive recommendations as to which cocktail to choose when I asked. I settled on the "burnt caramel old fashioned" and was so glad I listened to her recs. I enjoyed the live piano music so much that when the staff came to get us for our table, it felt too soon.



Gorgeous decor and ambience

As we entered the main dining area, we were awed by how beautiful the decor was. My imagination quickly took over and I felt like I was in the dining room of the titanic.


Staff pulled out my chair for me (undoubtedly furthering my titanic recreation), and flourished a napkin across my lap. Both Brandon and I decided to get the Houston Restaurant Week menu at 45$ per person. We also indulged in the crab mac and cheese.


Before any courses came, a loaf of warm bread arrived and it was among the fluffiest I have ever had. Brandon had to ask it to be removed before we could completely ruin our appetites.


The first course arrived and turtle gumbo was set before Brandon, and a crisp caesar set before me. The gumbo was delicious and my caesar was crisp and perfect.

With impeccable timing, our first courses were whisked away and our mains arrived. Brandon got the salmon and I had the New York Strip (which is normally around 65$ just for that). Both came with buttery mashed potatoes and green beans.


I took a bite and quickly realized this is the best steak I have had thus far. Brandon tried mine and he agreed. It was perfectly done with some juicy redness to the center, very flavorful, and had a satisfying consistency. Brandon's salmon was also delicious, although I'm not sure it was the best I've had.

After we ate ourselves into fullness, we called it quits and asked for much our plates to be boxed.


I then ordered an espresso martini which was delectable paired with the cheesecake they brought out. At the risk of being too effusive (let's be real, that's just how I am), the cheesecake was also the best I have had...in my life. It was creamy, fluffy, and smooth. It felt light in my mouth, and had a possibly white chocolate sauce lightly drizzled over the top (not overwhelming at all though).

We ended our night pleasantly with full stomachs, silly grins, and with enough leftovers for us to have a tasty lunch for the next day (which I am salivating over as I write this). The food was amazing and the steak and cheesecake were among the best, but I was also very impressed by the timing of service. The degree of attentiveness and the perfect intervals between courses made the evening very pleasant. I especially appreciated this in contrast to our last restaurant week experience where the food was just as excellent, but where the timing and atrocious service really detracted from the experience. Pappas Bros service made us feel welcome, wanted, and special, as opposed to overlooked and unimportant.

It surprises me how much value I guess I put in this.


Overall, we were very impressed and are already making plans on a Houston Restaurant Weekend getaway in future years after we move back to Austin.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page